Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dcrd

OT--I actually won!

Sorry to brag a bit, but my DB (dear boyfriend) is always bugging me that I am a great cook and to enter my desserts in the county fair. I tell him I am a "normal" cook and I don't do anything special at all. (He grew up in a house where his Mom wasn't a good cook).

So, I decided to keep him quiet and to enter the County fair. I never make pie crust as the pie crust gods have eluded me for many, many years. So what do I submit? A pie! I have been up every morning (including weekends) at 3 am for the past two weeks learning how to make pie crust, etc. Of course, last week, P G and E decided to have a power outage and it fried my computer. All of my recipes are on the computer! No one has a part for my old computer so I have to order it from Dell. They can't get it here on time for the fair. I have to guess at my recipes!

Well, I guess it paid off! I took third place in the special Raisin Wives Contest for two-crust raisin pie! I took first place in the "other" fruit pie category. I submitted a coconut oatmeal pie. I am shocked! I almost didn't submit either pie as I am still learning my stove/oven. I ended up burning one of each pie (I made two of each just in case something went wrong).

Last week the pie crust gods started to smile on me as I finally figured out what was wrong with my pie crust--not enough liquid. Where I live is very dry. So, with that there is no stopping me now! I am already planning my entries for next year! I am stunned!

Oh yea, what do I win? A ribbon and $1.00 for the raisin pie and a blue ribbon and $7.00 for my oatmeal pie. The ingredients cost more than that! If the recipes get published in the county fair cookbook, I get a copy of the cookbook for free. I am still excited and can't quite believe I actually won!

Comments (19)

• nomorebluekitchen
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

That is awesome!

You were so smart to cook two of each - very impressive.