Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zaptor99_gw

range hood too big?

zaptor99
15 years ago

I just had my whole kitchen renovated. The kitchen looked great until the island range hood was installed. I think it's TOO big for the kitchen. It's a high end one (Faber) and it's 36", which is normal, but I guess because of where it's located or because it's new to me, I'm finding it HUGE.

I thought about going with a glass one, but I was warned by many that glass will be very hard to clean.

What do you guys think? any ideas? Here are some pics

{{!gwi}}

{{!gwi}}

Comments (12)

• caryscott
    15 years ago

Honestly yes it seems large. I'm an art consultant so what really strikes me is that it blocks all the nice sight lines through to the back. I'm a regular oven person so I don't have much appreciation for the hood and at the same time I am at a loss for what alternatives, if any, you would have that won't do the same thing. I love the open concept, the room looks really large and I love the way your eye is drawn through the space (and around the hood) to the big windows in the rear. The room looks great to me but the hood really compromises what I like about the space (it may not be the same for you though and I don't live there so I wouldn't take my opinion to seriously).

• nomorebluekitchen
    15 years ago

I love those stairs!

I would like to say I love the hood but it seems to have too much mass. Especially the upper part; the rectangle on the bottom is nice and sleek but that upper part is too much.

What about something like this? It is a Best hood.

{{!gwi}}

Anita

• wa8b
    15 years ago

It looks just as I'd expect a range hood over an island cooktop. In fact, the one you've chosen is fairly minimalist in comparison to some that I've seen.

Alas, I'm not a fan of island cooktops for this very reason. The only other solution that I can think of - and it's a little late at this stage - would be downdraft venting, but that has some pretty major drawbacks, too.