Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missyv_gw

OT - How to keep house smelling fresh w/ a dog

MIssyV
11 years ago

I posted this on the pet forum, but I am new to that forum and not sure how well traveled it is.

After much research, we decided to get a puppy, a Weimaraner puppy! We are loving Wilson already, but have noticed a "dog smell" already in the house, which was one of hubby's biggest "cons" to getting a dog.

We have hard surface in most of the house, with carpet in bedrooms only (he is not allowed on carpeted areas right now since we are house training) and we are not allowing him on any furniture. I only put food down for him three times a day, and when I do, he eats then the bowl goes back up and gets washed out immediately. Today was rainy, so I tried to wipe his paws on a towel every time he came in from pottying.

Just to clarify, its not an odor of poo or pee, just "dog." :-)

All this to say, I am not really sure how to curb that doggy smell. Any suggestions?

Comments (32)

• beaglesdoitbetter1
    11 years ago

We have two dogs but I don't think they really have a doggy odor. However, we've recently decided to try to use an alternative to chemical tick control and I have herbal collars on them now. Since I've put the herb collars on, the dogs smell like rosemary and some other lovely herb smell whenever they come close (replacing the no-smell that they had before). Perhaps you could try the same- an herbal collar of some kind.

I think the reason my dogs don't have an odor (or didn't before) is because their coats are so healthy (They are the softest dogs ever!) We give them fish oil x2 a day which I believe contributes to keeping their coats extremely soft. Their ears are also cleaned out regularly. (Teeth aren't brushed because they are raw fed and it isn't necessary- raw feeding I think is a huge reason for lack of dog smell, but that is definitely not right for everyone).

Hope some of that helps.

• autumn.4
    11 years ago