Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neitz

Kitchen sink advice/insight?

neitz
11 years ago

I'm new to Gardenweb and have broken ground on a huge remodeling project - taking our tiny home from 800 sq ft to 1800 sq ft and including new kitchen and master bathroom.

I'm currently looking for the perfect large, white, single-bowl, undermount kitchen sink. I never paid attention to sinks, always put up with whatever I inherited, and now I see that they are one of the most important decisions in the kitchen remodel. I have to install mine in the island because of the floor plan - no choice.

Stainless and silgranite do not fit the feel of my "white" cottage kitchen. I prefer an off-set drain, but I think I would not mind the center drain with a large sink. I really like the Kohler "Riverby" but had to rule that one out because it requires a 36" minimum cabinet base, per Kohler website. The prices of these are all around $600. I have narrowed it down to three options and listed the interior bowl sizes:

1) Rohl "Allia" -- 28.5x17.5x10 (off-set drain)

Fireclay sink

Requires 33" minimum cabinet base per Rohl customer service rep

2) Kohler "Bakersfield" -- 27x15x8.5 (center drain)

Cast iron w/enamel

Requires 33" minimum cabinet base per Kohler website

3) Kohler "Cape Dory" -- 29x15x8.5 (center drain)

Cast iron w/enamel

Requires 33" minimum cabinet base per Kohler website

There were some threads about the fireclay sink that concerned me (crazing or cracking), so I contacted Rohl and was very pleased by their quick response and their assurances about the product. Seems it was a very minor percentage of their product with defects and they resolved the problems for the customers (it was also the Shaws sink and not the Allia). I was also told that if a cast-iron sink chips, it is bound to rust, but if a fireclay sink chips, there is a repair kit. Fireclay is also almost impossible to stain.