Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
GE profile induction?

Posted by htracey (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 25, 12 at 18:24

Anybody here tried this range? Gas is not an option for us, and I am sick of electric. I am interested in induction but I have no experience with it!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: GE profile induction?

I have a Bosch induction. So far I love it. Since the cooktop does not heat up, food does not get burned onto it. So much easier to keep clean. For kids it is so much safer since the element does not get hot enough to burn skin. It also won't heat your kitchen up in the summer. Mine will automatically shut down after a long period of time which is a particularly nice feature if you have forgetful folks in your home. It also has a power boost to speed up the heating of a pot.

I think most of the brands out there are good. Each has different features that you may or may not want/need. I got mine when it was 25% off at Sears.

The only cons that I know of are: you need ferromagnetic pans (a magnet needs to be able to stick to the bottom of your pan; your pans need to be flat bottomed - you can't use a wok; and if you have a power outage you are out of luck. For me the pros far outweigh the cons.

o

I have the GE monogram induction and love it. Its easier to clean. I purchased the emeril pots and pans for induction and love them as well. Wait for a sale at Macy.

o

I have the profile induction range. We LOVE it! It arrived right before Christmas and we have used it about 6 days a week since then, no problems. At the time, the GE and Electrolux were the two best models. Not sure if that's changed, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it at all.

Is there something specific you want to know?

There is a ton of good stuff to read through about induction over in Appliances, and there is a lengthy thread about the GE and Electrolux slide in models that is great and also applicable to the corresponding range models.