Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help picking a slab (super white quartzite)

Posted by bluej422 (My Page) on
Sat, Oct 20, 12 at 18:23

Newbie here who would love your help picking out our slab for our kitchen countertops. Both options are called Super White quartzite/dolomite, but one is more chunky and the other is more veiny/flowly. Not sure which to pick, so any advice is appreciated. Cabinets are very light natural maple shaker, stainless appliances, darker bamboo flooring. The kitchen itself gets lots of light (skylights and garden window). Thanks in advance!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help picking a slab (super white quartzite)

I think the first one highlights what the beauty of that stone is suppose to show. The second gives more of an all over gray appearance.

o

ditto, 1st one has more character. I chose the same stone for my master - it's being installed Monday. It's been so long, that I forget what our slab looks like. But we chose based on character of the pattern.

o

I like the second one because, to me, it's more subtle.

o

Love the first one!

o

gorgeous!

(so is #1, but I am a swirly person)

o

I vote #2...1 is a tad busy.

o

I like number one. that is what we have in our kitchen and it just looks great.

o

Definitely #2.

o

2 for me

o

Definitely #2

I like swirls!

o

2 for me too.

o

When I hold stuff up to my screen so I only see countertop width pieces of the slabs, I prefer #2 by a mile.

Any gauge of which slab is more stable? If it was really a tie in my head I'd ask the fabricator, "which one will have a stronger edge & hold up better to accidental abuse?"

o

Love both - first one makes a statement. The second one is subtle but gorgeous.

o

Do you have a sample of your cabinets that you could place alongside these. It makes a big difference seeing a context for a surface.

o