Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marg42

Anasazi Soapstone - anyone know about it?

marg42
12 years ago

Hi everyone- Just saw this and thought it was beautiful for our future kitchen. It's supposedly harder (i.e., 5 rating vs. 2 rating for softer SS's) than some soapstones too. It has a lot of veining similar to black marble... Would love to know what you all think!

http://teresinasoapstone.com/slabs-2/anasazi-soapstone/

Comments (17)

• MIssyV
    12 years ago

Its what I have on hold for our own kitchen! Isn't it pretty? I like the look and hardness of it, both of best worlds I think. I have yet to find anyone else that has it though, so I will be watching this post closely.

• mmhmmgood
    12 years ago

It's beautiful! I don't have it but a Moh's 5 should be as close to bullet proof as you can get with soapstone. I'm no expert but I think most of the soft soapstones for countertop use are about 2.5, talc alone (the major component of soapstone) is a Moh's 1. Steel is somewhere between 4 and 4.5. So it should wear really well AND it's absolutely spectacular to look at. As MIssyV put it, the best of both worlds!

• remodelfla
    12 years ago

I don't have that one but I do have Monsoon Wave which is also wildly veiny and HARD. The stone is bullet proof and I am hard on a kitchen with constant cooking/baking going on. It's as beautiful waxed/oiled as it is natural. No issues that come with the lovely looking softer stones, so yes; it is the best of both worlds for me.

• MIssyV
    12 years ago

not sure where you are buying your anasazi, but dorado has a video clip of it on you tube! they have several video's of their slabs online ...go look!

• marg42
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks so much everyone! I do think it's a great combination of durability and good looks.