Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fourhappy

New kitchen/home remodel

fourhappy
9 years ago

Hi there - I"m new to the site and this is my first time posting. I've been lurking around for a while gaining some valuable information. I was hoping I could post some plans for our upcoming remodel to get some feedback. Here is a bunch of background.

We are starting a remodeling project soon working with an architect right now and about to start getting bids from contractors. We are finalizing the plans with the architect. I am looking to expand my existing kitchen and create a mudroom/laundry room off of the kitchen/garage (in the floor plans the "pantry" is actually my existing mudroom/laundry room combo that comes in from the garage...). We are also doing a bit of an upstairs remodel as well...

DH and I have three children ages 7,5 &2 and # 4 (and final) is on the way due in the spring. This remodel is all for them ;) In the first picture are three possible options for the kitchen area - I think of them I am liking option C the best as the doorway from the mudroom doesn't break up the kitchen flow and allows for more cabinets. In the 2nd picture, its an older version but it shows the full layout of the first floor. The mudroom/laundry in the 2nd photo (which is bigger /longer than the first picture is the one I wanted.

For the breakfast area - we do most of our dinners here and I would like to make that table bigger to a 6 person table so need that updated in the drawing. I prefer a 4 stool counter but not sure if it's too tight, just b/c we will have 4 kids, so for some reason feel the need for 4 stools?? The dining room we actually don't really use that often - for the occasional formal dinner, birthdays maybe and we host Thanksgiving for a pretty large crowd so use it then as well (with tables extending well past the front door to accomodate everyone).

I will have more specifics probably in other kitchen layout posts but don't want to get too wordy (too late?).