Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rhondanash_gw

New house kitchen area

RhondaNash
11 years ago

We are concerned about sink vs stovetop placement in the island and overall layout. Comments please.

Comments (15)

• mamasheshe
    11 years ago

I am not a layout expert by any stretch, but may I say I am seriously coveting that big laundry room!!!

• nini804
    11 years ago

No joke!!! ^

I have a friend here in the neighborhood that has a very similar layout, but her stove and ovens are swapped. I will ask her how it is working. It certainly seems to function well...but she has made some desparaging remarks about the main sink being in the island. However, with no window on the other walls, it was preferable to her to have a view of something, rather than nothing while at the sink.

• badgergal
    11 years ago

My kitchen has its one and only sink in an island that is not as big as yours. I do not have seating at my island but it faces a small seating area and my backyard. When I am prepping and cleaning up I can visit with people sitting there or just watch what is happening out in the yard. More time is spent prepping and cleaning up that actually cooking so I would opt for the sink in the island so you can face your family room. Also it will be easier to vent for your cooktop if it in a location other than the island

• sixtyohno
    11 years ago

I am always concerned about have a long run of counter. Might you move the stack of ovens to the right so you have a bigger run.

• rosie
    11 years ago

A personal thing, but I wouldn't choose to do my prep and cooking standing staring at a wall 24" ahead with upper cabinets even closer in my face. The stove and refrigerator on each side are very convenient, though.

• rhome410
    11 years ago