Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
medha_nanal

Blender/mixer recommendation?

homey_bird
9 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am aware of the Cooking forum here, but I frequent this forum much more and really value thoughtful responses that I have got before. So turning to you folks for advice!

I am in the market for a sturdy hand mixer. I see that there are dedicated hand mixers with double whisk set ups (sort of look like clothes irons). While browsing through various models and makes, I came across blender+mixer that come on a stick type configuration, sometimes it comes with a mixing/chopping bowl etc.

I am a new baker and am buying a mixer mainly for that purpose. I look forward to making pies and cookies and everything in-between :-) and that is what got me looking.

While on that, I noticed that a lot of stick blenders have a mixer attachment. Although blender is not a necessity to me currently, I must say that it would be helpful. At the same time, in order to get more, I do not want to settle for something that would do neither properly :-)

So -- I am back for advice. I am ok buying two separate items, but I do have a very small kitchen and would love to save space if possible.

So --
- any bakers out there who make pie crust with stick mixer? How does that work? (I am specifically asking about pie because you need to mix cold butter and flour, which I assume takes more power).

- any feedback about Cuisinart and Kitchenaid? (Costco has a Kitchenaid stick blender+mixer combo for $29.99).

- Any bakers who have tried both double whisk hand mixer and a stick blender, and what differences do you notice?

I am interested in above points, and all other experiences you want to share! Thanks in advance!!

Comments (16)

• plllog
    9 years ago