Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lmead11_gw

Gel staining cabinets!

lmead11
11 years ago

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting here, but I've been "stalking" the forum for awhile now.

I'm so thankful for this forum because it gave me the idea to gel stain my cabinets. I've been wanting to give my kitchen a little face lift but didn't have a lot of money to do so. My husband and I just got married about a month ago and have decided with some of the money we got that we'd begin the face lift! We're going to get new appliances, hardwood floors and new countertops. Then I stumbled upon celtic moon's tutorial on gel staining and decided I had to try! I needed a test subject first though to make sure the process was really as easy as everyone made it seem. So I did the gel stain on our small bathroom cabinet. We were planning on replacing it with a pedestal sink in the future so if it turned out horrible it wasn't a big deal. But...it actually turned out so good!! I'm so excited and am really thinking about doing the kitchen too.

Here some before and afters of the bathroom.

Before

First coat... streaky and ugly, yikes!

First coat

Second coat.. looking much better!

And the finished product!!

Before & after

Comments (11)

• graphics_gal
    11 years ago

Terrific job! Looks great.

• motherof3sons
    11 years ago

Great transformation. And, who is that photographer in the mirror???

• lisa_wi
    11 years ago

Looks great! What brand and color did you use? I want to do this in our bathroom and family room but want something with some red for the bathroom and something a little lighter for the family room.

• lmead11
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I used General Finishes in Java. It was so easy!

• lmead11
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I used General Finishes in Java. It was so easy!

• fouramblues
    11 years ago