Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
remodelfla

OT... how to make homemade bread

remodelfla
15 years ago

I know I could post this on the cooking forum but I know you guys better and this is kind of last minute. Tomorrow night is "band night" at my house. DH's friends and band mates for the past 40 years come over to "practice" (aka goof around and laugh hysterically) and I make dinner for the boys. Since it' cooled down by Florida standards (it's no longer in the 90's); I"m in the mood to make a big pot of soup. I'd love to make some home made bread to go with it. I'm thinking pasta fagioli or some other hearty meal type soup. SO..... what is a good beginner bread for me to make? I'm a good baker, great cook, at ease with trying anything, but have never made fresh bread outside of banana breads, pumpkin breads, carrot...etc... not regular bread. I'm not looking to pour stuff into a bread machine. I want to learn how to bake bread?

Semolina? Italian? Sourdough? Hearty Nine Grain type?

It's trailrunner and rhomes' fault for posting all those KIA threads!

Comments (45)

• nuccia
    15 years ago

remodelfa, I've been baking yeast breads for 30+ years, and crusty Italian breads are my specialty. I have taught bread making and pizza making as well.

The reason I'm tooting my horn here is so you might believe me when I tell you that the "No Knead Bread" that the New York Times published has left me and thousands of others totally flabbergasted with how good it is, especially for something as easy as this is. You do not bake it on a pizza stone, but in a heavy covered pot at 450-500 degrees.

If you intend to make this for tomorrow night, you should start now. Buy SAF instant yeast if you can find it.

I don't know why, but many people have a difficult time with yeast recipes and give up prematurely. If you are serious, I can give you several recommendations for cookbooks that give good explanations for what works and why.