Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jesshs

Please review kit design, cabinet layout

jesshs
10 years ago

Well, hopefully I will provide the necessary info to get good answers. If not, let me know what I need to provide- I have read the post about what info is needed, but this is my first try at this type of post so I might miss something :)

I have a galley kitchen in a "rustic" ranch house built in 1976. As you will see in the pictures, I believe the kitchen to be original. Kitchen is in the SW corner of the house, the windows are all with backyard views. Directly E of the kitchen, through a cutout is the family room with a window on the front yard/street. There is also a little mudroom/utilities and side door to the S of the family room, behind where the washer/dryer closet is in the kitchen. N of both the kitchen and family room is the living/dining area. The dining is right off of the kitchen and has 2 sets of french doors to the back deck. The living portion is sunken and has a stone fireplace the entire height of the wall on the front of the house. The ceiling is cathedral with 4 rustic wood beams (cedar?) from side to side. Bedrooms and bathrooms are to the N side of the lr/dr.

We need to update the kitchen, but can't afford a complete renovation- so no tearing down walls or extensive electrical/plumbing. Trying to stick to around 15K or less. Generally, the set up of the appliances is pretty good in the current kitchen. I am going to change the location of the dishwasher to the right of the sink rather than on the left side where it is now. That will I hope give me room for tableware in drawers/cabinets to next to and above the dw, next to the dining room. It will also open up the counter across from the fridge for prep.

Options in town are basically HD or Lowes. I have been to both, and am strongly leaning towards Lowe's. I like the Diamond Reflections cabinets, style Gresham, painted in "Cloud". Here is my mood board so far: