Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jml248_gw

Never had a kitchen this large, struggling with the layout.

jml248
9 years ago

Just have to say first these forums are such a wealth of information. I've been lurking for a while and finally feel brave enough to post !

Background: husband and I are doing a complete gut of the kitchen (and house)
I'm an avid cook and baker. My husband doesn't cook but many of ours friends and family do.
Also do canning and food preservation-- have a very large garden. Cleaning and prepping of fresh food is very important.

Appliances: one appliance I am set on is 48" bluestar range. We weren't planning of buying a new fridge since ours still works. Do not currently have a DW but it would be nice.
I'd like a double basin farm sink, at least 33" but I haven't selected one yet.

Goals. Functional storage--- our house has none!
Lots of light
Open layout that we can entertain informally in the kitchen while cooking
Biggest is obviously functional layout for actually prepping, cooking.

I put in a window to play around. The layout is reflective of us altering some load bearing walls. Very open to window placement, also even removing the door on the right wall if that improves the footprint. (Goes to a more or less 3 season room). It's about an 8 foot ceiling on a good day soooo.

The only real restrictions on layout is the "doorway" into the LR, that has about. 12" square beam that is supporting the entire house.

I'd like to use the right wall that continues after the 3 season door for something functional, I was hoping maybe a beverage/breakfast bar area with storage and stool seating or more pantry storage, but the design is just not jiving in my head.

For some reason I feel an aversion to putting a sink in the proposed island, but that seems to be hindering the flow. I'd appreciate help very much. My brain is a muddle. At this point I'm just trying to achieve a rough layout.

Comments (4)

• practigal
    9 years ago