Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chi83

Please help with updating cabinets!

Chi
10 years ago

Hello,
I'm new to the Kitchen forum, and I'm hoping to get some help here! We just closed a few days ago on a new house that we love. However, the kitchen is outdated, and I'm looking to find some ideas!

Here are the facts:

1. We are absolutely changing the counter. It might be hard to see, but it's white tile and there are chips and cracks throughout. We will likely get Quartz. We have about 80 square feet of counter space and were quoted $8k for a quartz countertop from Home Depot.

2. We would like to keep the same layout because we love the hardwood floors and don't want to have to replace the flooring with cabinets that don't exactly fit the current layout. And the kitchen is somewhat long and narrow so there aren't many options without a really expensive remodel project.

3. We think the cabinets look really outdated, and this is where I need the most help.

So about the cabinets...

We figured our options were either to buy all new cabinets, get the existing ones refaced or try to DIY a fix. I don't want new cabinets because of #2 above. I don't want to just stain or paint them because I'm not a fan of the cabinet door style.

We had someone from Home Depot come out the other day to talk to us about refacing our cabinets, and he quoted us $23k for our 70 linear feet of cabinets. I have no idea if that is a fair price or not.

We were also told that our cabinets have solid wood frames and we should keep those because new cabinets from Ikea/Home Depot are made of particle board.

Anyway we don't really want to spend $30k+ on updating this kitchen if we don't need to. It would be great if we could get it in the $10k-$15k range, including the countertop. We want something that looks nice and elegant but we don't need super high end as we won't get all of it back when it's time to sell.