Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I need a free color consultation for my kitchen please

Posted by shabbychic10 (My Page) on
Sun, Sep 16, 12 at 18:07

Hello. I am a newbie. I have orangey oak kitchen cabinets. I recently replaced my backsplash with a tin tile, new stainless appliances and cabinet hardware with a new "faux" blackish granite countertop by Giani Granite Countertop paint.

I hate the red walls and the orange cabinets.

I want a white cabinets with a nice wall color to bring it all together. Can you help? I have attached some pictures so to help those who have suggestions. I use a SW paint wheel. But I am open to others.

My biggest problem is my tile floor undertones. The tile has hues of pink, gray and greens. What color white on my cabinets without them turning gray or green? What wall color with these floors?

HELP.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I need a free color consultation for my kitchen please

Here is another picture of my floors.

o

What you have done so far looks very nice! I cannot get an accurate enough color on the floor to recommend a color, but I would paint some large sample boards and have them all over the kitchen. On the SW fan deck, look at the whites that are with the grays, and other colors, because that is where I found my cabinet color -- Nacre.

Nancy

o

I'd start with the walls! Paint them a nice soft, spring green. The yellow tones of that green will look amazing with your cabinets (my mom used to have very similar ones) and still look good with the faux granite and stainless steel.

Maybe add a few more natural elements, to balance out the stainless and pick up the wood on the cabinets. A few plants and/or herbs, maybe a basket or a bit of copper?

I know you want to paint the cabinets...but that's a major project and you'll have to paint around your new backsplash and countertops. I'd start with the walls and you might be surprised how much better those cabinets look! :)

o