Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ssdarb

Sink during reno

ssdarb
10 years ago

Our kitchen remodel starts on Tuesday. I'm pretty well set up in the living room to have my fridge, microwave, table, coffee maker, toaster, homework space for the kids, etc. That part should be fine.

The only problem is I won't have a sink except for the bathrooms. I'm not planning on doing a lot of fresh cooking, but even just defrosting something will result in a dirty storage dish which will have to be washed.

Is it possible to have the contractor set me up a temporary sink somewhere (maybe on the back patio?).

If he could do that, where would the water drain? I've never done a kitchen remodel before, so not really sure how it all will work.

Thanks.

Comments (15)

• ck_squared
    10 years ago

We're making due with a tiny bar sink which is actually a lot smaller than the nearby bathroom sink. What helps is having a wand sponge thingy to clean whatever dishes we have. I wouldn't bother adding a temp sink.

• GauchoGordo1993
    10 years ago

You could rig up a portable sink like this in the back yard. Water supply could be a garden hose, and the drain could be routed to some part of the yard that would appreciate the water.

http://www.amazon.com/Portable-Camp-Cleaning-Table-Faucet/dp/B00AM23N3M/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1379629357&sr=8-8&keywords=portable+sink

• GauchoGordo1993
    10 years ago

more convenient link format

Here is a link that might be useful: portable cleanup sink

• debrak2008
    10 years ago

We used the laundry tub in the basement.

• joaniepoanie
    10 years ago

I used paper everything...

• sreedesq
    10 years ago

I agree with what gaucho, debrak, and Joanie said/suggested. You have good intentions with your temp kitchen set up, but if you are like us it will be so much easier to eat out. Good luck!

• suzanne_sl
    10 years ago