Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Sink during reno

Posted by strayer (My Page) on
Thu, Sep 19, 13 at 18:05

Our kitchen remodel starts on Tuesday. I'm pretty well set up in the living room to have my fridge, microwave, table, coffee maker, toaster, homework space for the kids, etc. That part should be fine.

The only problem is I won't have a sink except for the bathrooms. I'm not planning on doing a lot of fresh cooking, but even just defrosting something will result in a dirty storage dish which will have to be washed.

Is it possible to have the contractor set me up a temporary sink somewhere (maybe on the back patio?).

If he could do that, where would the water drain? I've never done a kitchen remodel before, so not really sure how it all will work.

Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Sink during reno

We're making due with a tiny bar sink which is actually a lot smaller than the nearby bathroom sink. What helps is having a wand sponge thingy to clean whatever dishes we have. I wouldn't bother adding a temp sink.

o

You could rig up a portable sink like this in the back yard. Water supply could be a garden hose, and the drain could be routed to some part of the yard that would appreciate the water.

http://www.amazon.com/Portable-Camp-Cleaning-Table-Faucet/dp/B00AM23N3M/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1379629357&sr=8-8&keywords=portable+sink

o

more convenient link format

Here is a link that might be useful: portable cleanup sink

o

We used the laundry tub in the basement.

o

I used paper everything...

o

I agree with what gaucho, debrak, and Joanie said/suggested. You have good intentions with your temp kitchen set up, but if you are like us it will be so much easier to eat out. Good luck!

o