Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steph2000

A Quick Vote, or Long Discussion, Anyone?

steph2000
10 years ago

I recently posted a final layout thread. It's pretty wordy in there, so I'll leave it to the bored, verbose and tenacious to weed their way through it. (with much thanks, btw, I can still use input)

One piece of feedback that came out of it was to reconsider the range wall uppers. So, I started playing with it and am circling back to consider that option.

The only thing I totally care about for that wall is what LOOKS best. I know, I know, but we are NOT talking a lot of space, so I'm less concerned about storage than appearance here.

My partner REALLY needs me to decide on the range hood so he can complete the venting prior to snowfall (which could be any day, really). So I am creating a separate thread here in the hopes I can get lots of responses with a simple vote.

Here are the options:

1 - OPTION ONE
The plan has been to avoid uppers in that small nook and tile it all the way to the ceiling, then put small floating shelves by the range on the side of the bump out we have there for frequently used spices. I was thinking it would help with tile dilemmas because the shape of the backsplash wouldn't echo the window BS we have on the other wall.

Minus, the shelves, that option looks kind of like this:

A finished kitchen with a similar look:

Farmhouse Kitchen by Philadelphia General Contractors Kenny Grono

OPTION 2 -
We ended up making the bump out deep enough that upper cabinets can recess within their depth. So, here's the wall with uppers.

Do you prefer option 1 or 2? If you prefer option 2, do you think I'm going to have trouble finding a tile that will coordinate with the BS window?

Thanks so much for voting!

This post was edited by Steph2000 on Tue, Sep 17, 13 at 15:55

Comments (50)

• mark_rachel
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago