Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tapasnut_gw

Beige Painted Oak Cabinets

tapasnut
11 years ago

We just purchased a home with oak cabinets that have been painted tan. We're planning to replace the countertop with white marble with grey veining (aquarelle) and redo the backspash with grey crackle subway tile. Appliances and hood will be upgraded to stainless.

We're remodeling noobs and are having a hard time imagining how we'll like these cabinets once we've made those changes and added new hardware. We are contemplating repainting or refacing the cabinets so they are white instead of tan/beige. What do you recommend?

Comments (16)

• laughablemoments
    11 years ago

I'm no expert, but I'll chime in. : ) I'd recommend you live with the space for a bit before you make any expensive, permanent changes. I'd hate to see you sink a lot of money into the project only to find out a year or so down the road that something about the layout really irks you. (For example, you can't have someone using the sink at the same time someone else is at the stove...) It looks clean, fresh and serviceable, so you've got time to plan and dream.

Enjoy your new home! : )

• Molly Phillips
    11 years ago

I'm also no expert, but would agree with laughable. You may find all kinds of things to change, or all kinds of things you love and don't want to change!

As far as color....based on those yellow undertones from your photo, you are not going to be happy with a grey combination and will probably need to plan to paint them a truer white.

I would suggest visiting mariakilliam.com - she is a color expert and blogs a lot about undertones not matching. I've learned a TON from reading her posts.

• Annie Deighnaugh
    11 years ago

I love the cabs and the wood floor. I think the counter you are suggesting will be wrong for the space. I think if you want something white, it should really pull the beige tones of the cabs out of it too.
    Like Akdo Millenium (sic) cream