Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kayakcove_gw

Worried my kitchen will be dark

KayakCove
9 years ago

Hi,
I posted earlier this week about the layout of our kitchen and mudroom. I studied your comments and put together a plan. Using photo shop I moved walls around.
{{!gwi}}
Can you tell me if this is a better plan.
{{!gwi}} (clip on image for a bigger picture)
My biggest problems now are:
1) will the kitchen get enough natural light? I moved the refrigerator to the other end of the kitchen so it would not block light coming in from the dining area
2) This plan has a stove and no built-in wall oven that I really wanted.
3) Where does the microwave go?
4) Are there better "zones? Clean-up, prep, cook?

This is the plan we finalized and are having second thought about (click image for a larger view)
{{!gwi}}
The homes front door is in the large hallway by the office.
Greatly appreciate any comments!!!

Comments (18)

• kcorn
    9 years ago

I am not an expert by any means, but here are some suggestions on your new plan:

1. Replace the current placement of the fridge with a 30" combo microwave/oven stack with a 15" or 18" pull out pantry next to it (the pantry would be next to the wall leading to the back hall). Then replace the range with a cooktop and extra drawers underneath.

2. In place of the pantry, put your fridge closest to the inside of the kitchen and then you should have room for a small area of counter with uppers and lowers beneath. This could be a great place for your coffee maker / toaster / breakfast items.

3. Regarding natural light I think it really depends on what direction your house faces, however, many people have kitchens in a similar location within their home as you do and it's fine. Consider under cabinet lighting. Also, I cannot tell if this is a single story home, but if it is, maybe you could add some skylights or vaulted ceiling?

• Jillius
    9 years ago