Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tolachi

Galley Kitchen Layout Feedback Pls

tolachi
9 years ago

I am getting ready to buy cabinets and wanted a double check on my layout. The apartment will be a nice rental/airBnB. Ikea cabinets with semihandmade's walnut doors. Counters 30" deep in a white quartz or verona marble. Stainless appliances. Dimensions are 13'8" by 11'2". I am open to any feedback, but am mostly concerned about the dishwasher (18") located next to the wall. I am considering replacing it with a 15" cabinet and putting it to the immediate left of the sink with a 15" cabinet then also between the DW and the stove. The current cabinet between the stove and DW is 30", so a 30" replaced by 2 15" which is a little less storage space in a storage challenged layout.

This kitchen is on the small side but the overall sqft of the apt is ~750 so it doesn't need to be huge.

Thx!

Comments (5)

• funkycamper
    9 years ago

I'm really new to kitchen planning and am learning a lot from others here while planning my own kitchen remodel, so take what I'm saying with a grain of salt.

Having the dishwasher between the stove and sink will really create a bottle-neck if two people are working in the kitchen. I have that set-up now and it's horrible so I can't wait to move my DW to the other side of the sink so prep and clean-up can be done at the same time without the DW in the way.

That said, I really like what has been done with the small space. But if you want more storage, is it possible to run the counters down the wall toward the entrance door? Maybe about to the end of the window closest the door so that there's still room for someone to come in/out without getting in the way of anyone cooking and cleaning?