Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
slavin_gw

need help! kitchen layout...pics.

slavin
11 years ago

Hi Everyone! I have been lurking on this board for quite some time and all of the expert advice has been sooo helpful to me since we bought our fixer-upper last year. Thank you to all of you!

Right now we are working on the kitchen and we have quite a time crunch because we are expecting our first child in just 3 months. The problem? My husband and I cannot agree on the layout, more specifically the placement of the refrigerator. I won't say who likes which layout but please help me by telling me which you prefer and why. I have never done a kitchen before so I am POSITIVE there are a ton of things I'm not thinking of.

I realize that one of the photos adds a bench and extends the kitchen further out. Both designs will end up doing that except now we are thinking of putting a desk in that spot instead of a bench.

All opinions and thoughts will be greatly appreciated! :)

Comments (13)

• slavin
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here is the 2nd layout...

• itsallaboutthefood
    11 years ago

I like the 2nd layout better. In the first layout the refrigerator seems to take over the wall and the windows seem to become more separated and kind of lost. Plus I think the refrigerator will block light coming out of the windows as it is deeper than the upper cabinets in the 2nd layout.

Have you considered doing more drawers where possible in your lower cabinets?

• slavin
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for responding itsallaboutthefood! There are some drawers which you can see better from this angle. Also, the Island has a microwave as well as 3 more drawers. Curious, are the drawers more usable than just a regular cabinet?

• itsallaboutthefood
    11 years ago

Oh yes...do a search on drawers and you will find loads of gardenweb threads on this. Drawers are much better than lower cabinets with our without roll-outs.

• herbflavor
    11 years ago