Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wallycat

Kitchen clean up ?

wallycat
11 years ago

I realize some of us are "messy" cooks and others "neat," but I am curious how you cook....

do you clean as you go? Or, do you make what you intend to and clean up everything afterwards.

I tend to be on the messy side and I try to clean as I go, but sometimes, it all gets away from me....and I finish up afterwards. Some pans even wait till the next day ;-)

you?

Comments (9)

• sjerin
    11 years ago

Most of the time I am a messy cook! When I'm cooking something, I can't stop the cooking in order to clean up what I've just used. If it is a recipe with drawn-out steps, then yes, I could clean and usually do.

• MarinaGal
    11 years ago

I have trouble enjoying my meal when the kitchen is a disaster. So, over the years, I have become better at prepping first, cooking second. I tend to clean up as I prep which means by the time I am cooking, I don't have a lot of cleaning left to do, and most of what remains can wait in the sink until we finish eating.

• andreak100
    11 years ago

I'm somewhere in between - I try to clean up a bit as I'm going along if there's time, but it really depends on what I'm cooking. Sometimes, I've got prep going along in stages so there's stuff cooking that needs tending along with prep work, so in that case, there's not usually much time to clean up. But if I don't have prep work and cooking going simultaneously, then I'll start cleaning up as the cooking is getting finished.

• liriodendron
    11 years ago

I have spent some time thinking about this point.

I think it goes beyond being a "messy cook", or not.

It depends more importantly on what method you use for cleaning your used utensils. If you use a DW, then "cleaning up" may mean simply rinsing or stowing the used stuff in a DW as you go go along in prep. This gets your counters clear of used utensils, but doesn't actually wash anything, yet.