Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redroze_gw

Anyone with a 1/8 grout line?

redroze
15 years ago

Our tiles are handmade ceramic tiles, so the edges are not perfectly straight. Both our GC and designer recommend a 1/8 grout line because they are handmade and said that it's a standard grout line that's used. I'm not worried about maintenance as I'm a very neat cook, I only care about the aesthetic. Does anyone have a 1/8 grout line, and do you like the look of it?

Here's our tiles, which are 2x8".

Comments (44)

• rhome410
    15 years ago

We have 1/8" groutlines in our bathrooms and laundry...We have 1/4" groutlines behind our rangetop. (Only the bathrooms are grouted so far, but the tiles are up in the other spots.) Are you concerned that 1/8" will be too wide?

• redroze
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hi Rhome, yes I am concerned they'll look too wide. Do you have any photos that you can share of your 1/4" grout line?

• cat_mom
    15 years ago

Although we generally prefer tighter grout lines, our stilatto (stillato? I never get it right!) tile came pre-mounted on a mesh backing, so the spacing was "chosen" by default. It's roughly 1/8" (maybe 1/16" in some spots according to DH).

• redroze
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Oh, it looks totally fine! I was worrying over nothing. Thanks Rhome!

Catmom - good to know yours is 1/8 too...I know your backsplash looks great too!

• moremoremore
    15 years ago

Meow! love the tile! I was also worried about my subway..I wanted to make sure I kept it as "modern" looking as I could and didn't want fat lines...he initially suggeste 1/4 but I did 1/8...he said don't do smaller (I think they might be lazy...dunno)....but it looks A-ok..never give it a second thought..you won't either!

• cat_mom
    15 years ago

I can't wait to see your tile up in your gorgeous kitchen red! It's gonna look awesome!

• redroze
    Original Author
    15 years ago