Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ktrud_gw

plywood versus 'furniture board sides'?

ktrud
14 years ago

So our cabinets are just about ordered, but I noticed that the Durasupreme cabinets have 2 options - standard Crestwood is what they call furniture board sides and optional plywood end, or their is a custom option for all plywood. I don't know what the price difference is...

Does anyone here know the big difference? Will I regret not going with all plywood? Would ask my KD but want truly honest opinions:)

Comments (4)

• skrdtoask
    14 years ago

I worked as an engineer for a company who built about 250 high end cabinets at that facility per day. Most of the cabinets that came from that line were plywood sides, either 1/2" or 3/4". I became rather biased about it, and looking back, it was probably unjustified. To me, the important parts of cabinet construction are the face frame, the joints, and the back either being decent thickness or having nailers for strength were they are joined and also attached to the wall. This is just my opinion, but even though the plywood makes a very solid nice cabinet....Once it is installed, and forever more, no one will know the difference. The plywood does make for a bit more attractive interior, but probably not enough difference to speak of. Maybe in instances where a finshed interior is important, then plywood, or actually wood vanier sides are required. Of course you can vaneer partical board too, and then you still can't tell the difference once installed. I still have a bias toward plywood ends, but it probably isn't a logical one. More cabinets are made with furniture board sides than plywood, and there really aren't problems with them.

• ktrud
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the input! I think you're right about once they're installed I won't tell the difference...I feel that way about a lot of things in the kitchen these days! Do you know what furniture board actually is? Thanks!

• jakkom