Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eastfallsglass

Finally finished!

eastfallsglass
12 years ago

This is my first time posting to the forum; but I've been lurking for a long time. This forum has been a great source of inspiration and hints. We've finally completed the remodel of the kitchen in our 1920's home in Philadelphia. As the third owners of the very 'intact' home, we wanted to create a kitchen which would fit in with the age and character of the house.

The only change to the floorplan of the house was that we closed off the door from the kitchen into the center-hall. Now the kitchen is accessed only from the dining room, or from the rear entrance of the house. There was a door to the center-hall and a small pantry; that space is now where the fridge and surrounding cabinets live.

The cabinets were ordered, but I did a good deal of the work, including the floor, countertop and back-splash. Prior to this renovation, the kitchen had a combination of original cabinets and a 'modernization' that was done in the mid-50's. The original cabinets were not economically salvageable, however the new cabinets are in the same style as the originals and the Chambers cook-top was part of the old kitchen.

Here are some pictures of the end result:

Comments (89)

• spayurdog
    12 years ago

Absolutely beautiful! I love it ALL!! Where did you find the 2x4 subway tiles? Would you mind posting a close up of the backsplash? Thank you and congratulations!

• Lake_Girl
    12 years ago

Thanks for the info on the soapstone!! Your kitchen makes me happy!

Trailrunner - Do I put my email address here? it's mgh1@bellsouth.net

• User
    12 years ago

Just sent you an email....c

• palimpsest
    12 years ago

Really nice. Looks contemporary and house-appropriate at the same time. I like the detail of the shelf over the radiator and of course, the Chambers.

• hsw_sc
    12 years ago