Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anldsmom2

Local kitchen trends

anldsmom
9 years ago

I'm finally going to get the white kitchen I've been dreaming of for the last 10 yrs. I've seen online comments saying that white kitchens are the big trend, and maybe even starting to become too ubiquitous in some areas. I decided to do a quick survey of the high end houses for sale in my area by checking listing photos and only found 3 white kitchens, 2 of which were obviously older. The newer houses being built still seem to be going for cherry, although there were signs of the lighter granites going in instead of just darks. So, I'm not worried about my kitchen looking dated anytime soon around here!

I'm in Northern WV. What are the trends in your area?

Comments (26)

• brightm
    9 years ago

I have zero ideas what local trends are, but I put in cherry with light granite. Guess I'm on point. :)

• nosoccermom
    9 years ago

DC Metro area: White Shaker, marble or light or black granite, SS. Or sleeker, either glossy white or slab front wood, SS, white quartz.

All built in 2013

Condos (350K-600s)

House (850K-2.4 mio)

• housebuilder14
    9 years ago

white with maybe a touch of gray. marble countertops. paneled appliances or ss.

• palimpsest
    9 years ago

The most common finishes in the city are dark stained cabinets with modern looking stainless steel pulls, active granite and glass tile backsplashes.

At the very upper end of the urban market in traditional houses you will see white, often glazed, and lighter granite or marble.

I would not say that white is ubiquitous or even common around my area.

• Terri_PacNW
    9 years ago

I just looked at new build townhouses on Zillow. Dark stained wood, light or dark granite, granite tile backsplashes or the granite mini splash, black appliances in the smaller homes, SS in the larger.
    Then went and looked at the low 300K new builds, same as the 220K townhouse.