Peke
10 years ago

Here is my Sea Pearl island.

Comments (94)

• foodonastump
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

First off, gorgeous stone!

For that kind of money I wouldn't put up with those seams. What's the plan for the backsplash? I'm thinking most anything would cover the gap, or could be made to. But the seams are another story.

I'm new to this kitchen stuff but I don't understand the concern about installing it as one piece. My main piece of granite is 117.5" with a 58" el, all standard depth, no seams. There was no mention of this being a problem. The hardest part was finding a slab I liked long enough because I was insistent on no seam. Three guys carried it in with some sort of braces clamped to the sink area.

• Peke
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I forgot to ask something.

How far from the backsplash wall does the counter slab go? He left 1/4" on one side and 9/16" gap on the other side of the sink.

Shouldn't it be flush against the wall?
    Doesn't the backsplash sit on the slab?
    Peke

• Peke
    Original Author
    10 years ago

bump

• texasgal47
    10 years ago

Mine was flush against all walls.

• Holly- Kay
    10 years ago

Mine is really close to the wall, I don't think a half inch gap is acceptable but Old Ryder would know, hopefully he will see this.

I was wondering how things went today with the fabricator. Did you get any answers?

• angela12345
    10 years ago

Mine was as much as maybe 1/4" in some places. I wasn't too thrilled with it even being that much.

• badgergal
    10 years ago

I had no gap at all between the slab and the wall. Good thing, because I did not want backsplash tile anywhere except behind my cooktop. And you are correct the backsplash tiles do rest on the counter top.

• Peke
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The fabricator hasn't called yet. I left another message today that said we needed to get this resolved before the second reserved slab is sold.

peke

• mjocean