Wed, Aug 7, 13 at 18:55

Here is my Sea Pearl island.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Sea Pearl installed

Peke, your island is DREAMY! Love it!

o

They messed up when measuring I guess. I bet they measured the length on the front part of the count, but didn't measure the back. So the counter was not square.
They should have measured both.

So they had to fill it in with some epoxy and some of the dust from the cutting. It is 1/4" wide.

o

This is the edge where they seamed it.

o

Top of the seam

o

Back of sink seam

o

I kept the brushed side up. I love the texture.

I am so glad it is installed, even though I am not happy with the 1/4" gap and the seam.

Now to start looking for the backsplash and paint.
Peke

o

I took this picture standing on a ladder so you can see the colors better.

It has a pale green tint to it, but I can't even tell you what color green it is.

Peke

o

I hope others weigh in here and I'm far from a granite expert and I'm really sorry to say this...but this installation would be unacceptable to me. The seaming at the sink and that big gap at the back and side of your counter look very sloppy to me. I would talk to the owner/manager of the fabricator shop.....search the Internet for good examples of seams and the backs and sides of counters and show them the difference.

o

Oh, I just want to reach out and touch it! That is a gorgeous piece of stone.

o

Peke, your sea pearl is gorgeous and the brushed finish goes beautifully with your cabinets! Can't wait to see what you come up with for backsplash.

o

Joanie, I know. I am not happy. I told him when he left. He said, "help me out here. Can't you put a piece of molding there? Can you bring the backsplash around the corner on the wood cabinet?"

When I told him they probably measured wrong he blamed everyone else....plumber who installed the sink and cabinet maker.