Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
kitchen layout advice for new kitchen

Posted by ma_home_owner (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 2, 12 at 17:27

We are in the process of building a new home and are at the point where we are picking the kitchen cabinet design and appliances. The house has a rough frame on it, but can be easily changed at this point if we want to fine tune the cabinets.

My architect proposed a layout which is shown here. We could not fit that many cabinets to the right of the window due to the wall space. One idea that the kitchen designer suggested was to put in a wall from that connects the island to the back wall effectively turning this into one big peninsula with attached island? My architect is not a fan of this as he feels that it will cut down walking access into the kitchen and reduce a large open expanse all the way from kitchen into the living room. I'm not a kitchen expert so I was wondering if anybody had any recommendations?

Thanks a bunch for any advice!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
OK, here's a first try. FWIW.

First, a question. Is that a pantry in the bottom left? I hope so.

OK, here's a first try. I don't like it, but it might provoke ideas.
Photobucket

Advantages:
1. Makes use of the long lower wall
2. Provides more prep space on the island. (I am assuming the architect's design had a raised rim.
3. Decent work triangle from range to fridge to prep sink--although it is a long way from fridge to range!
4. Countertop beside ovens.

Disadvantages.
1. The biggest--Fridge is far off from breakfast area.
2. I just plain don't really like it.
The whole area is too big, too spread out. Interesting to see what others can imagine.

o
RE: kitchen layout advice for new kitchen

Thanks for the input.

Yes, that area to lower left is a pantry (about 40 square feet I think).

I do like how you laid out the island better than what we have today as it gives us more space for prep.