Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boone_2009

What color cabinets and countertops for this tile floor?

boone_2009
11 years ago

This is my first time uploading a picture so I'm not sure if it will display correctly.

We have a beautiful tile floor we would like to keep, while we put in new cabinets, countertop and stainless steel appliances.

We wish to go with Kraftmaid maple cabinets in a light color - like Parchment. Honey Spice is another option but we like the paler maple cabinets on the Kraftmaid site.

A light countertop is also what we are leaning towards - either in granite or engineered stone. I keep picturing a kind of rosy/blush countertop ( maybe I'm thinking apricot?? not good with naming colors :-() but am worried that light stone will show stains.

Thanks for any and all suggestions.

Comments (16)

• arch123
    11 years ago

Are you thinking painted cabinets or natural wood? Do you want stone etc on the counters?

• lavender_lass
    11 years ago

I like your idea, to pick up the gold, peach and terra cotta tones. Are you keeping the brick, too? It seems to go well, with the floor.

Are you going to have an island? If so, maybe Parchment on the perimeter and Honey Spice for the island? You could have all the countertops match...or maybe a darker countertop in one area and the blush/apricot on the other?

• boone_2009
    Original Author
    11 years ago

First thought of painted cabinets ( Kraft Maid Canvas in Maple) but am worried about paint chipping off, stains etc. However, our next option, which is KraftMaid Parchment in Maple is stained - but because it is light-colored it will probably also show stains eventually. So at this point, I am still dithering about which to choose.

Yes, either engineered stone or granite for countertops. The white tile countertops we now have look really shiny and new and quite lovely in the picture, lol - but they are a PAIN to keep clean ( held up for 22 years, though) and I can't stand the grout.