Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blondeziggy2

Wood floors--what type of hardwood to use?

blondeziggy2
13 years ago

Hi, I'm new to posting, but have been lurking the past several weeks. We are looking to remodel our kitchen (create a classic old world style kitchen), but I'm confused about the floor. I want to put in a wood floor, and I love the look of American Walnut. But everything I've read says it's quite a soft wood. What types of wood do you recommend? I have several children and a dog and I live in Utah (a dryer climate).

Also, I've talked to multiple hard wood distributers and read quite a bit on the internet about solid wood pre-finished floors versus sand and finish floors. The more I hear and read, the more confused I become. Any recommendations or thoughts?

Thank you in advance.

Comments (18)

• mikomum
    13 years ago

mmmmmm... N.A.walnut.....

I worked as a hardwood flooring designer/estimator for years in my previous pre-mommy life and like so much else, much about hardwood is preference, expectations and perceptions.

We had hardwood on the upper floor in our previous house, prefinished, natural grade, 2.5" width. We racked the floor and had installer friends do the cut and install so that I could put the prettiest burled boards in the doorways and other noticible locations. I loved it. We had natural grade maple downstairs and while maple is CONSIDERABLY harder the floors were 'marked' about the same when we sold the house. The only bruising I saw was where the futon was continually put down in the den. When I say bruising I mean a slight compressing of the wood surface with the finish moving with the wood. Walnut will 'bruise' slightly deeper than say maple if something is dropped on it but the finish is going to be about the same for scratches.