Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennifer11203_gw

Wood Tile Floor Issue

jennifer11203
10 years ago

Hi Everyone,
So where at the process now of finishing our flooring in the kitchen but we came into a real issue..... UGH! After grouting the grout lines turned white. The color of the grout is Sable Brown by Polybl*nd which is a very dark chocolate brown. Does anyone have any experience with this or have any solutions???? I am very stressed out over this because it changes the look of the floor entirely. I chose a black walnut wood tile floor with white grout lines and it looks bad! I even tried to clean the floor a couple of times to see if that would take the white away but had no luck!
Thank you so much.

Comments (9)

• willtv
    10 years ago

I'm no expert, but I'm told that grout color gets washed out if they add too much water to the mix.
    Try mixing up some of the grout, as instructed on the package, and spreading it on a sample board to see if it's any darker.

• mudhouse_gw
    10 years ago

I'm no expert either, but I think this sounds like grout efflorescence. Basically soluble salts rise to the surface of the grout as it dries, making the white film. Here is an article with more info:

grout efflorescence

You might consider cross posting in the bathroom forum, as there are some really knowledgeable tiling pros that help out over there, and they might be able to brainstorm solutions with you.

• Vertise
    10 years ago

It could be either efflorescence (which they can try to remove) or the pigment has been washed out by using too much water. It is amazing how many of these installers do not know this. They will make excuses too even though it's right on the bag and the color is clearly washed out. What did they say?

As I recall, a vinegar solution can be tried first, from there there are stronger cleaners. Don't know the waiting period from installation. Check over at John Bridge Tile Forum for specifics.