Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ppbenn_gw

Stranded on the Island

ppbenn
11 years ago

I'm new to this. Have only done a couple posts and have such difficulty with pictures. However... I need a lifeboat!

DH wants the island BIG - as big as it can be.

If we do that we can still get 42-54" around all sides, but it ends up 7'X6' I think too big.

- three chairs facing the sink and view windows. AND ability to put stools under on sides cuz everyone congregates at the island.

- 36" drawer bases on stove, range, and sink sides.

- no sink in island

- really would hate to have two level island but would like to have wood top at chair end and stone elsewhere.

So Please any suggestions you have would be welcome.

Should I make the island smaller to make wider aisles?

I already have 54-60" between sink and island.

OK how do I flip the Picture!>>>

can I add another pic?

This is my attempt to mock up an island. It's 7 wide by 6 deep. View is to three windows.

Comments (36)

• ppbenn
    Original Author
    11 years ago

How do we get several pictures in one post? I used to know how I think... that was before I tried to design a kitchen...back when I stayed on the building forum.
    Heres the quick layout I did up at the house yesterday. I think its upside down -shoot me.
    Really it seems huge doesnt It?

• ppbenn
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Honestly why is this so difficult for me!

• lavender_lass
    11 years ago

Your island is big, but I don't know that you have plenty of room on the sides for stools...without interfering with your range and fridge.

I would make the island 7' wide (with no side stools) and maybe 4' deep...with plenty of room for the three stools facing the sink. This would keep the stools (even when people are seated on them) within the kitchen area. Just my two cents :)

• chiefy
    11 years ago