Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
breadandsuch

Backsplash Grout Help please

breadandsuch
12 years ago

I am so close to the end....just a few more decisions.

This is my first attempt at posting pics, so please bear with me. I have cream cabinets with Delicatus granite. I chose cream subway tile, 2x6. I had always planned to grout it in a cream to give it a monochromatic look, but DH is thinking that the darker grout may look good. These are hand made tiles, so I feel that the irregularities will show up more with the dark grout.

I think that the pictures are a bit dark, but hopefully you can get an idea.

Comments (8)

• sayde
    12 years ago

Your tiles look a lot like mine. I used the 2x6 Walker Zanger Gramercy Park in bone china, which are really ivory in color. I used the grout color "Summer Wheat." I think it is a TEC Grout color. It is a mid-dark color, looks scarily dark on the tester stick but dries to a good mid-color. I was going for the 1920's service kitchen look, and it works in my vintage kind of kitchen. If you want to see how these same tiles look with a matching lighter grout search for Mamadadapaige's kitchen -- back in 2008. Same tile but a much more refined look with the lighter grout.

I can't seem to post photos but if you search the GW KF for gumwood kitchen sneak peak you'll get a link to my photobucket pictures.

• remodelfla
    12 years ago

also search sabjimata's glorious kitchen. She did a white subway with darker grout. It looks outstanding in her space.

• dianalo
    12 years ago

Since your bs is in shadow, I'd go with a medium to light tone, knowing it will read darker in your lighting.

• alwaysfixin
    12 years ago