Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Many thanks, didn't pick Cold Spring Granite, more input requeste

Posted by Rybren2 (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 22, 12 at 11:17

Thanks for the advice but thanks even more to all the people that take time to share their experiences. I have never used a forum before and I actually think you've saved my sanity. I had never heard of OTK before but once I read about it I realized that I was having trouble picking granite because yes, it was beautiful, but it wasn't what I had ever envisioned as MY kitchen. So I went out and found a beautiful slab of Calacatta marble for my island. I LOVE it. To me, it looks like a watercolor painting. I couldn't be more pleased and excited. So now I have a island counter top. Looking for ideas for perimeter counters to coordinate with the Calacatta. This picture was very difficult to take as I was wedged between the blocks of marble so colour is off. Really not that blue. Just beautiful white, grey and taupe veining. Thinking Cambrian Black leathered. Any other suggestions? Also, need to pick hardwood floors. Pre-finished or site finished? Thinking medium toned oak. Is it worth the agg (sanding, fumes, out of house for a few days) for the non beveled result. Prefer no bevels but DH wants prefinished although only $900 difference in price between the two. Cabinets are BM White Dove!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Many thanks, didn't pick Cold Spring Granite, more input requ

That slab is beautiful!

Some people have used soapstone on the perimeter counters and marble on the island, with stunning results. One that comes to mind is Segbrown's kitchen

o

Beautiful counter! As far as the floor I just had pre-finished hardwood put in the kitchen, and had pre-finished hardwood put in the living room/dining room last year. No bevels anywhere. Looks just like the original to the house hardwoods I have upstairs which were presumably site finished back in 1950.

Abbey

o