Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mdwstgrl_gw

Tile Installed-- Does this look right?

mdwstgrl
10 years ago

Hello. Just had backsplash installed with glass tile by GC. Non sanded grout was used. Is the uneven and pitted appearance the norm or is there a remedy? Thank you.

Comments (22)

• kompy
    10 years ago

oops double posted. erasing this one.

This post was edited by kompy on Tue, Aug 6, 13 at 13:03

• kompy
    10 years ago

Did you specify grout thickness? That seems to be thicker than what is usually asked for. Thicker grout lines need sanded grout....I thought. I am not a tile pro.

The grout looks sloppy too.

How does it look overall with the tops and cabinets?

I would not be happy with that installation or grout thickness. I would have that re-done.

Here is a link that might be useful: tips

• BrianVarick
    10 years ago

How big are the tiles? It looks like they are probably pretty small. Grout does shrink a little when it drys, but this looks like it probably wasn't pushed into the voids enough.

• User
    10 years ago

Looks like the joints are too large for unsanded grout and sanded should have been used. Sand is what gives it "body" and keeps it from shrinking so much.

• gwlolo
    10 years ago

Did you specify 1/3 offset or 1/2 offset for the layout? I agree about the grout. Did you sign off on a sample board?

• cookncarpenter
    10 years ago

If the joints are larger than 1/8", sanded grout should have been used.

• Bunny
    10 years ago

I thought sanded grout shouldn't be used with glass tile because of the scratch potential. Thus the grout lines need to be narrow enough for nonsanded. Plus narrow lines have a more contemporary look, as does glass, says me pretending like I know what I'm talking about. :p

• cat_mom
    10 years ago