Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
colibri5

Where do you store onions, garlic and potatoes?

colibri5
14 years ago

I've been storing mine in a basket on top of my fridge for the past 17 years. In my new kitchen, I have planned to have a cabinet built above the refrigerator so am looking for a new home for onions, garlic and potatoes. I'd love to hear your ideas.

Comments (31)

• cotehele
    14 years ago

I keep mine in individual baskets on separate shelves. I also have squash and yams/sweet potatoes in baskets. The potatoes are covered with a light weight cotton towel to prevent turning green from exposure to light.

• allison0704
    14 years ago

Vintage wicker baskets on floor in corner of walk-in pantry.

• Stacey Collins
    14 years ago

I have baskets that reside inside cabinets.... separate cabinets for the potatoes and onions/garlic since keeping them in the same air space speeds their decay/sprouting (can't remember the exact scientific reason!)

I am hoping to build a small root cellar in my basement this year, since I hope to have a big crop of storage vegetables from my garden. If that happens I will store most things there, just keeping out a week's worth in the pantry.

• crazyhouse6
    14 years ago

I keep mine in the walk-in pantry. I love those canister, Jeannie.

• steff_1
    14 years ago

Potatoes in baskets on a lower shelf in the pantry which is dark. Garlic and onions in small wire baskets in a cabinet with oil, vinegar, etc.

• chihuahua6
    14 years ago

I have a large wood thingie carved from one piece of wood that I keep on the counter and fill it with potatoes, unions garlic and apples. It makes a nice display especially with the apples. My kids eat so many apples that it's okay to leave them out. They get eaten before they go bad.

• Buehl
    14 years ago