Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
psyohe

Sea Pearl needs a backsplash...

Peke
10 years ago

Ok, many of you know it took me months to decide on a countertop material. So, now I need a backsplash.

I need suggestions because I am not good with colors which is why my house is not painted yet.

I know I don't want the backsplash to overpower the countertop and I don't want it dark.

I found this tile that makes the Sea Pearl look blue but it is about $60.00 per 13"x13" square. OUCH!
Peke

Comments (156)

• romy718
    10 years ago

Peke-glad to see your back. How was the wedding?
    What colors are the existing furnishings in your living room & dining room? I have an adjoining family & breakfast room so I understand the challenge of finding a paint color that works in all three rooms. Add in the backsplash hunt & it can get discouraging. So you probably do need to find your paint color first?
    I know blue green looks good with oak cabinets. That "pale blue green" that you circled on your Sea Pearl looks very much like the faux paint wallpaper I recently took down (still loved it but couldn't save it with the reno & I'm never doing wallpaper again). It did look great with oak cabinets. Another gray (if gray works) is BM La Paloma Gray, a medium fresh, clean gray that works with blues & greens (my accent colors). It was recommended to me. I thought it would be too dark but I love it. I do have a good bit of natural light.

• Peke
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I am in denial about the blue... I know. I just hate that color of green. I like blue greens. I don't want gray walls in the rest of the area. I wonder if the sealant could be removed. It was not supposed to change the color. It might not make a difference though.