Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maria110

Cabinet for refrigerator depth

maria110
9 years ago

My kitchen cabinets were installed recently and I'm finding the cabinet for the refrigerator looks odd and I would appreciate your input on this.

The depth of the panel is 30" and as you can see sticks out past the bottom cabinets. The top cabinets are the standard 24" but are installed flush with the panel. The refrigerator I bought is a Fisher & Paykel counter depth one with a depth of 27 3/4" without the handle. Should I have them adjust that panel to be flush with the bottom cabinets at 24" or leave the 30"depth?

Also, was it possible to put the trim on top of the cabinets flush with the doors or does it have to be the way they installed it?

Comments (7)

• brightm
    9 years ago

Note: I'm no expert and someone more experienced will probably chime in. I've just recently gone through this too.

The point of the end panel is to hide the sides of the fridge, so you don't want it 24"d. I don't know if you need it 30"d, you'd need to check the specs on your fridge. You mentioned that the fridge is 27 3/4" without the handle, but it depends what kind of door it has whether the door has to sit in front of the panel (probable) and how much room is required behind the fridge.

AFA the trim above the cabinets, yes, it should be out further, IMO. Here's a wall of mine during the reno with the top molding done (that about a month ago, and the other wall where the fridge is STILL is not done because of my own end panel issues).

Also, above my pantry, they need to fix this molding because the left edge, as we view it, sticks out too far past the door, compared to the rest.

• MizLizzie
    9 years ago