Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dingosurf

How do you raise countertop height?

dingosurf
15 years ago

We are going with Kraftmaid cabinets, which come in a standard 34-1/2 inch base. When you add a 3 cm granite counter, it ends up being about 35-5/8 inches. Is there any way to increase the height of the countertop relatively easily? Can you put a piece of plywood underneath with some moulding around the edge just under the countertop? Has anyone increased their counter heights without going to custom cabinets? I'm just trying to gain about an inch.

BTW, I'm 6'5".

Thanks.

Comments (12)

• mominthedubc
    15 years ago

I'm a novice, but I "think" you could increase your toe kick. We are going with 39", we have 381/2" now, but our cabs are custom. I know the cab people were going to increase our toekick from the standard 3-4" to 6" to achieve our requested height, but my DH wanted the cabs to be bigger so we are going with the standard toekick. Hope I am right and that this helps.

• ccoombs1
    15 years ago

I'd go higher in the toe kick area. It will be less noticable.

• debo_2006
    15 years ago

We had to increase our cabinet height (after they were already DIY installed) because the height with 3cm granite would have been lower than the 36" minimum height of our new Bosch slide in range, by 1/2". And I wasn't about to get a lower range, b/c the Bosch is a beauty.

We put plywood on top of the cabinets (under the granite), and have matching cabinet trim to cover the plywood. The trim will be installed soon. It was the only fix for us and it works perfectly. Once the trim is up, it will be unnoticable.

Good luck.

• footballmom
    15 years ago