Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crescent50

Advice Needed on Kitchen Layout- 1st Draft

crescent50
15 years ago

Hello all!

I have been lurking forever and learning so much from this forum. We are getting ready to start new construction and have been obsessing over the plans- so many inspiration kitchens and great ideas on this site!

Finding TS Divers floor plan yesterday has finally prompted me to put my ideas on paper for your consideration. Warning- I am a complete newbie so accept my apologies for my ignorance but I am learning:)

A little background: We are a family of 4 ( kids 4 & 1) and plan to have another if all goes well :) Our kitchen will be 28x18 including the eat in area.

I am definitely not a gourmet cook but like to prepare meals for family/friends and entertain casually often. I come from a big family and the kitchen was always the heart of our home. I am looking to create a happy, comfortable space where I can cook, the kids can do projects and friends can visit for a drink and something to eat.

Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions. Sorry about the drawing- my attempts at using software are not going so well but I am pretty impressed that I figured out how to upload a picture on the 1st try. Hope it is clear enough. Let me know if I can answer questions or provide details.

I am excited to hear your ideas and suggestions.

Comments (49)

• rhome410
    15 years ago

A base cabinet lazy susan goes 3 ft in each direction. As you can see in your drawing, at 2' there is no way to get into it.

Will you want a trash pullout? I love ours. We have a dishwasher on each side of our sink, so the trash is across the aisle in the island, and it works well that way.