Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
practicalcook

Viking 7 Series vs. Blue Star

PracticalCook
9 years ago

Help! I cannot make a decision!

I am doing a complete kitchen renovation and need to make a choice for a 36" commercial/professional stainless range/oven.

I am a passionate cook who only uses the oven for a few major holidays per year (think Thanksgiving) when I have 15-20 people over. I am torn between the new Viking 7 Series and a Blue Star. The chef in me says get the Blue Star with its larger capacity oven and "workhorse" reputation. However, I am concerned with the heat emanating from the door and the temperature of the door itself since I the oven will be in a enclosed space and we usually have small children milling about.

The Viking 7 series seems promising with the 6 year warranty. With its more powerful burners, and a new manufacturer, it seems like a promising contender.

I have to purchase a new dishwasher, fridge, and hood, and the price of the Viking is about $2,000 more than the Blue Star package.

I plan to stay in my house another 15-20 years, so resale value is not my highest priority. Nor is the "impressing my neighbor" factor.

Any other suggestions for additional brands? Is there anything that I should be aware of?

I have been reading all the Garden Web blogs, which has touched on this topic, but mostly focused on the Viking 3 and 5 series. Thank you!

Comments (7)

• eam44
    9 years ago

Consider posting on the appliances forum as they are highly knowledgeable over there, but just the mention of the name Viking is going to elicit cries of shock and horror. This is a very pro-BlueStar, anti-Viking crowd based on member experiences over many years. If this latest series of Viking is any good, you won't feel the tide change for another few years at least.