Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brightm

How do people who work ever remodel their...anything?

brightm
9 years ago

I'm in the midst of a kitchen reno (I can say now that since my living room is full of cabinets, right?) Being a school teacher, I scheduled it during the summer when I'm mostly available. I have no idea how anyone who worked any kind of a job at all (M-F, other schedule, full-time, part-time, at home) could ever have this done. I have a second, part-time, work-at-home-but-have-to-set-schedule-ahead-of-time job and trying to maximize the income from that before the REAL reno starts has been incredibly difficult.

When will my cabinets be here?
8 week lead time, 1 week window up until 5 days before, then 1 day window, up until day before, then 4 hour window.

When will the GC inspect them?
Wouldn't schedule it until the cabinets were actually here...except I sort of begged so I could schedule work. Friday they told me inspection would be Thursday, but then changed it to Saturday (when I'd already scheduled work). Luckily it was done in time.

When will demo start?
"Can't tell you that until the cabinets are inspected. "What? Again, can't schedule work or any appointments. Finally got them to say it wouldn't be before 7/17. At inspection, we were told it could be 7/15. Appointments will be moved, I will not delay this on my end!

When will installation start?
"You have cabinets missing. We can't schedule install until all cabinets on site." me: They're due early this week. "Great, then we'll be able to tell you early this week when we can start."

When will missing cabinet be here?
Friday I was told it shipped Thursday and due early this week. I hadn't gotten any shipping info and decided that today was a good day to spend out and about with DH. Luckily, it's due tomorrow. I have work scheduled at 3, so hoping it's here before that. I have someone on standby to take my classes tomorrow if I'm still staring out the window waiting for DHL.