Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
califpoppy

How to meld the kitchen and dining area together?

califpoppy
9 years ago

I'm a relative newbie to GW, only finding this forum after looking for pointers on good kitchen design for our upcoming kitchen redo. We live in a 1960 track home where all the rooms are closed off from each other.

So..... we're taking down the wall between the kitchen and dining rooms to make one large area and our KD suggested we extend our kitchen cabinets into the dining area to connect the two rooms. Sounds like a good to me but I think it looks awkward the way the KD has designed it. We can't extend the cabinets all the way across the back wall of the dining area under the window because a dog door (Yes we love our dog!) is in the way. So the KD ended the cabinet run about 4' short of the side wall. It's just not balanced and looks odd to me. If we eliminate that run of cabinets the two rooms don't look connected to me. I need some help - what should I do to connect the two rooms better?

Comments (9)

• califpoppy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here's a picture of the dining area window.

• califpoppy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And the wall between the dining area and the kitchen in mid demo!

• badgergal
    9 years ago

I don't think the kitchen cabinets need to be extended into the dining area to connect the two together. I think running the kitchen cabinets into the dining area might look like you didn't know where to end the kitchen.
    What are you using for flooring in the kitchen? I thinks a better way to connect the 2 spaces is with the same flooring in both areas.
    Another thing that might work is a buffet type piece of furniture (in the same finish as the kitchen cabinets) centered under the window. In the space on each side of the buffet you could put side chairs, potted plants or some other decorative items.

• teacats
    9 years ago

Perhaps have the cabinets built around the door?