Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrs_mjt

Can you recommend an economical & efficient vent hood?

mrs-mjt
15 years ago

Currently, I have an OTR micro that recirculates so I never even turn it on because it is noisy and worthless. I will now be able to vent to the outside so am considering an OTR micro that vents but would prefer a regular vent hood. I'm a very ordinary cook. I rarely fry (except bacon), I don't wok or grill indoors so don't need anything fancy, just something that will be efficient for a 30" electric cooktop (smoothtop or induction). What can you recommend? Thanks!

Comments (19)

• astridh
    15 years ago

There have been lots of threads on hoods on the Appliances forum. I suggest that you post over there, as well.

• mrs-mjt
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks! I'll do that!

• muscat
    15 years ago

My criteria were:

quiet
    efficient
    less than $1000 (preferably less than $700!)
    Easy controls
    halogen lights
    baffles, not screens

As I wanted a chimney style, they are more expensive, but I was still very happy with Zephyr and Kobe- lots of models from $400-900. I bought a Kobe, but I really liked the Zephyr models, especially for under-cabinet installations.

• susanilz5
    15 years ago

I have a Zephyr Hurricane under cabinet hood, I think it was around $400.00 I love it, lots of power when needed, pretty quiet, and very, very easy to clean. Now that's it's installed my smoke detectors have stopped going off.

• mrs-mjt
    Original Author
    15 years ago

muscat, I appreciate having your criteria. It is helpful.

susanilz5, Your recommendation sounds perfect! I'll check it out! For a 30" cooktop, do you know if I should get the 36" so there is a 3" overlap on each side?

• maydl
    15 years ago

I bought an under-cabinet model, Zephyr Cyclone, for $369 from a local vendor. Haven't used it yet because the remodel is still in progress, so I'm glad to see susanilz5's postive review of her Zephyr hood.