Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrs_mjt

What were priorities in your kitchen layout?

mrs-mjt
15 years ago

I know there will be some differences based on how we cook, etc., but what were your main priorities when laying out your kitchen zones? Seems like every layout I design in my current footprint has big pros and big cons so I'm really trying to decide what I can live with (compromise will be in order)and what will drive me bonkers. For example, my current kitchen has minimal landing to the L of the sink which I strongly detest so I will definitely fix that. So what is important to you in each zone? What are questions you asked yourself as you designed your kitchen layout?

For example, is a garbage can near the sink and convenient to the prep space? Is glassware located convenient to the frig? Is the coffe pot near a faucet and convenient to mug storage?

FYI, I'm a plain Jane cook so don't spend hours and hours in the kitchen preparing meals but would still like an efficient well-thought out layout if possible. Thanks!

Comments (21)

• bbtondo
    15 years ago

I'm also a plain jane cook and since it's only DH and I, we eat out A LOT. LOL. We also entertain a lot. My priorities are: getting as much storage space and countertop that I can in my small kitchen, having a pantry (be it small) by my refrig, having a double trash and DW on either side of my sink, having pots and pans drawers next to my stove, having my dishes close to my DW, having my glasses, mugs & coffee pot by my refrig, having a beverage refrig for entertaining, having a larger peninsula for buffets and/or bar setup, having 3 glass upper cabinets for my crystal, china and martini glasses, have drawers instead of lower doors with pullouts to make life easier and having my MW over my stove (I know it's not popular, but it works for me!) Hopefully having my new kitchen be warm and welcoming. Wow are you sorry you asked? Most of these things I've learned here! Thanks to all.
    Barb

• rosie