Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wildernesslove

Overwhelmed by my kitchen and don't really know where to start.

wildernesslove
10 years ago

So I've been scouring the internet lately looking at all kinds of DIY projects and ideas because I HATE my kitchen. For financial and other reasons I'm locked into where I'm living (a rental through a friend's family) for at least the next couple years. And really, I like where I live. But I hate this kitchen. And of course, whenever I have a cookout or gathering, all of my friends are for whatever reason drawn straight to the kitchen to stand around and congregate in.
I have a pretty limited budget (probably $50-$100 a month) and it'll primarily be just me working on it. I'm not very good at picking out color/design stuff that would actually look good together. What I guess I'm looking for are smaller, realistic changes I can make that will make my kitchen look less like the out dated, falling apart, train wreck that it is.

Comments (34)

• suzanne_sl
    10 years ago

I'm a little confused about the color in this kitchen. In several photos it looks like the lemon special, but in the one the fourth from the bottom, the floor looks beige and the cabinets a very pale yellow. Not too bad in that photo.

Regardless, let's talk about that ceiling in the second to the last photo. Where is that water leak coming from? Has the source been repaired? The landlord needs to come repair the ceiling leak, and then the ceiling. This cannot in any respect be considered a favor to you, but a condition of safe housing. Aside from that, this kitchen will need a total gut down the road. Sad to say that as a renter, you don't have much that you can or could do here. I suppose you could tear out the wallpaper trim and paint the walls, but I'm not sure it's worth it.