Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
appalachamoon

"Layout advise on new kitchen build"

appalachamoon
10 years ago

Hello everyone. I have been a frequent lurker of the kitchen forum and this is my first time posting on this forum. If possible, I would like some advise on my proposed kitchen layout. This kitchen will be part of a new construction in western NC. Any thoughts or ideas are greatly welcomed.

Comments (9)

• liriodendron
    10 years ago

If I understand your drawing correctly, I would move the clean-up sink to the other side of the range. Right now, you've got it arranged all tight in one (upp left of drawing) corner.

Separate the clean up function on the other side of the range and you have the ingredient storage > prepping > cooking all together with no need for clean-up workers to intrude into that sector.

If your family is right handed, put your DW on the left of the sink. You could make plating easier (after cooking or other prepping) by storing the items that would be needed for plating towards the left (range/ prep side of sink). Store items that go directly to the table by them selves (silver ware, plates if your serve faily style, glassware, etc.) on the other side. That way someone can set the table while never intruding in the main cooking zone.

Is that a second DW under the island? What's the plan for that? You could also have it open toward the side if that makes your plan work.

Fab pantry - I want it!

HTH

L.

• appalachamoon
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks liriodendron for the awesome advice! Never thought of separating the cleaning from the cooking tasks or placing the DW to the left of the sink if right-handed.

The larger square under the island is a microwave drawer. To the left of the microwave drawer is a prep sink. I've been debating as to whether a prep sink is necessary. I've read several of the posts on this subject and am still on the fence.

• j_hack
    10 years ago