Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sadiebrooklyn

marble slab for backsplash

sadiebrooklyn
13 years ago

I keep seeing pictures of people with marble slab backsplashes behind their ranges. I am doing marble counters (carerra) and wondered whether to consider it for backsplash as well. I would think you would constantly be worried about stains and etching with it behind the burners.

then again, if I'm using it on the counters (though I was planning on brushed stainless for counters around the range) - then maybe it doesn't matter?

anyway - would be interested to see pics and read opinions

sadie

Comments (13)

• sabjimata
    13 years ago

SEal it and it won't stain. Get honed and the etching won't be very noticeable. Then again, I think it depends on your tolerance level and expectations...as well as the look you are going for.

We had polished carrara subways and I am a slob of a cook. No etching, despite splatters of jam and tomato sauce pretty regularly.

• User
    13 years ago

Sadiebrooklyn, if you keep your plans for brushed stainless around the range, please please post your final photos?

That is what I am wanting to do on the cooking side of our galley kitchen in our Alabama cottage. I think it will be very serviceable.

I know marble is a lovely creature, but I also know that the way I cook causes a lot of splatters from grease to tomato sauce, and wok cooking atomizes a lot of grease and steam. So I don't want to be stressing out over keeping something clean looking. Bulletproof and maintenance free is my basic requirement for an ideal kitchen surface.

• francoise47
    13 years ago